YGCRh Logo

School History

Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni is a Welsh medium school located in the County Borough of Caerphilly. Cwm Rhymni was founded in 1981 with just over 100 pupils and has since grown to over 2000 pupils. It is the only Welsh medium secondary school in the county.

Cwm Rhymni was originally situated on two sites, a Lower school for years 7 and 8 and an Upper school for years 9 to 13, situated in Aberbargoed and Bargoed respectively. In the late 1990s the school was granted permission to build a new, state of the art one-site building in Fleur-de-lys, which opened in 2002. The original Headmaster of Cwm Rhymni was Mr Huw Thomas, who was succeeded by Mr Hefin Mathias in 1995. Mr Mathias was in turn succeeded upon his retirement in 2008 by Mr Owain ap Dafydd and upon the retirement of Mr Owain ap Dafydd in 2020, Mr Matthew Webb became the school’s current Headteacher.

A new campus for Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni opened in the town of Caerphilly in 2013 for years 7 to 11, and called Safle’r Gwyndy, due to the demand of Welsh medium education in the county. The original campus at Fleur-de-lys  is now called Safle Gellihaf in order to avoid any confusion between the two sites.

The school’s houses are named after Welsh saints: Mabon, Cadog, Tudful, Sannan and Ilan. Tudful and Ilan were later additions to the original three houses as the school’s numbers grew.


YGCRh was founded.

Gellihaf campus opened.

Gwyndy campus opened.

Mr Webb assumes the role of Headteacher.

Follow us

Follow us on Instagram and see the
photos of our school life

[instagram-feed feed=1]